4ENCLAVE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

4ENCLAVE

A new home for the 4th Edition of the Worlds Oldest Roleplaying Game

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

The Location-in-Motion FAQ

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
CHIA
Heroic Adventurer
Heroic Adventurer
CHIA

The Location-in-Motion FAQ  Empty
PostSubject: The Location-in-Motion FAQ    The Location-in-Motion FAQ  EmptyThu May 16, 2013 2:23 pm

(Repost)

Recently, a style of DMing known as Location-in-Motion has become somewhat well-known on these boards, thanks to iserith and his efforts. Smile I'm no expert, but I think I have the idea down, feel free to criticize and suggest additions/deletions. Smile Based on suggestions, I've attached links to some of the questions. Those are threads relating to that subject on the general DM boards.

What is LIM? LIM is a style of DMing in which there is no predetermined plot. Rather, the heroes are dropped into a location with various dangers and factions, and everyone (including the DM) plays to find out what happens next!

How is LIM different than "sandboxing"? LIM differs from sandboxing in one major way. In sandboxing, the PCs are dropped into an environment, and start up trouble/ solve potential problems, etc. However, in LIM there are barbarians at the gate, so to speak ( or even inside them! :O). The PCs have enemies around, the setting is in't merely sitting there like block of gelatin waiting for a prod (Hence the "in motion"). community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/758...

Why makes LIM any better then another style, such as railroading? Short answer: Nothing. Playstyles are determined by group preference. Railroading can be a perfectly fun style, it allows epic and dramatic encounters to take place, with grand plots arcing over the whole campaign. However, many prefer a more fluid game, with unplanned events.

How can I run an LIM game?